BLOG TOUR POST + REVIEW: Mummy’s Favourite by Sarah Flint @SarahFlint19 @aria_fiction

Mummy's Favourite.jpg

Buy from Book Depository

Publisher: Aria

Release Date: January 10, 2019 (UK)

Genre: Adult Fiction / Crime Fiction / Mystery / Police Procedural

Goodreads Average: 4.04  *as of 2/10/2019*

 

Goodreads Blurb:

He’s watching… He’s waiting… Who’s next?

Buried in a woodland grave are a mother and her child. One is alive. One is dead.

DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford is assigned by her boss, DI Geoffrey Hunter to assist with the missing persons investigation.

As more pairs go missing, the pressure mounts. Leads are going cold. Suspects are identified but have they got the right person?
Can Charlie stop the sadistic killer whose only wish is to punish those he deems to have committed a wrong. Or will she herself unwittingly become a victim.

A gripping, heart-stopping crime thriller, introducing new series character DC Charlotte ‘Charlie’ Stafford of London Metropolitan Police.

My Thoughts:

The publisher says that Mummy’s Favourite by Sarah Flint is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, and I would have to agree with them.

What it’s about: Introducing DC Charlotte (Charlie) Stafford of the London Metropolitan Police. Charlie is assigned to help with a missing person’s case where there is a mother and son missing, and a husband and son left behind. The husband is violent and everyone’s first thought is that it is him. But when other mother/child couplings start to go missing Charlie is scrambling to figure out how they are all connected and if it is in fact the husband of the first missing persons behind it all. At the same time, Charlie is dealing with her own personal issues plus trying to help a local war hero.

Mummy’s Favourite is chalk full of crime material and action. I wouldn’t say it is quite as graphic as a Karin Slaughter novel, especially when it comes to gore, but it was most definitely full of disturbing material. There is a lot going on in the book, and a lot of different POVs which I really liked. We got POVs from Charlie, the killer, a stalker, and more which makes for a very interesting read.

Even though there is lots of action and there was plenty to keep me interested, I found that I read this book fairly slow. There are 344 pages to the paperback and it took me over 5 hours to read it. That is probably fast by most people’s standards, but I just felt slow when I was reading it. But this is not a negative, I just wanted to mention it!

I loved the bits about Charlie’s background and personal life, and I’m really glad I started with book 1 of this series instead of starting later as I sometimes end up doing. If you are going to read these, I recommend starting with book 1 and going in order just because I think you learn a lot about Charlie in here. I haven’t read the other books to this series, but now I can’t wait to!

Final Thought: For the most part, Mummy’s Favourite read like an episode of Criminal Minds which I really liked. I like when books switch between the criminals and the police even though the criminal sections were pretty disturbing. Definitely a lot of police procedural to this book so if you are a fan of good police procedurals and crime writing this is one I would highly recommend checking out. The fact that the author worked for the Metropolitan Police really shines through in this novel, and it was quite fascinating to read.

MY RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an advance review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

 

About the author

Sarah Flint.jpg

With a Metropolitan Police career spanning 35 years Sarah has spent her adulthood surrounded by victims, criminals and police officers. She continues to work and lives in London with her partner and has three older daughters.

 

Follow Sarah:  

Twitter: @SarahFlint19

Facebook: @SarahFlintBooks

 

Buy links for the paperback (UK):

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2H6lIRT
Blackwells:  http://bit.ly/2AEI4nT

 

Or get the eBook from:

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2FcoWRf

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2ChkjlU

iBooks: https://apple.co/2GYdwTr

NOTE: This book is available on Kindle Unlimited for UK and USA readers

 

Follow Aria

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

 

I am part of a blog tour and if you are interested you can head over to these other fine accounts and check out their thoughts for this book.

Mummy's Favourite blog tour poster 1.png

Mummy's Favourite blog tour poster 2

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s